Books, Happiness

In a world without classics…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

There’d be no Harry Potter, Hunger Games, Twilight…there’d be no me! Who knew the original YA book was The Swiss Family Robinson? Or that it’d be gifted to my 8 year old self  by an unconventional 50 year old van driver?

My friend Madeline was not your typical anyone. She wore vintage scruffy levi’s and smelled of day-old cigarettes. She collected american flag truckers hats, and always cocked them to the left side. She lived in a tiny apartment with her long time boyfriend and a steady rotation of  7 stray cats. Her baby blues, bug eyed behind Mrs. Doubtfire glasses, would study me quizzically but affectionately; often before she surprised me with the latest stash of illustrated classics. My stranger-danger vigilante parents  trusted her immediately.

My family eventually moved to another neighborhood. Madeline and I lost touch and it was much later that I heard she passed away from leukemia. Her legacy is filled with joy:: my memories of her  are preserved in the brightest corners of my mind,  crystallized in a rose-colored snow globe. And,  should things ever get fuzzy, the Swiss Robinsons are only a shelf way.

-writinginsoysauce

Standard

What do you think?

